opps… I forgot to title this… Other Than The Big Four

1 Feb
Image representing mufin as depicted in CrunchBaseImage via CrunchBase
Well, as usual this weeks module involved a lot of practical wandering around the web and I must say that I am almost overtly fascinated by the numerous learning and reconstruction of communications through social media.
Butthen I guess its also probably because it is such a new field… it beats the mundane uses and methods of communication.
Anyways so I looked at two different LBS’s, Foursquare and Uberlife.
Both were interesting and had different things to offer, except they were not very user friendly for Blackberry and in India the service was pretty bad.
Ifeel a lot of the main clients for such companies are the BIG companies such as Starbucks or Burger King, it is rare that you find these in places like India where international business laws are a bit restricted. (the one huge exception being Walmart and Ikea which will be launched but only in tier 1 cities of India). But of the two I would say that Uberlife was more innovative and allowed for a user to explore different things such as whether a friend was close by or what were the plans for the evening through comments. I love looking through restaurants with new cuisines and a lot of my friends ask me to recommend places to them.
india calcutta bookstore Oneadded advantage of having such service apart from the examples mentioned in the module would be create categories for your social circle, such as ‘foodie’ or ‘fashion expert’ or whatever and therefore enable a community of friends to mention certain brands (the trick here is to limit the  listing to those featured in the lbs), and explore, become loyal, comment and asses the brand for themselves. Thereby making the branding process a lot different from an advertisement coaxing the potential customer to become loyal, here the process is personal, self derived and indirect.
For the Discovery Engine, I looked at Mufin for my music and I found it amazing, I was able to source different kinds of music from all over the world, manage my files on the internet so I never have to worry about a broken hard disk and I get to check out music from so many people (if they are willing to share).
It was pretty awesome and I believe can be a great tool to measure and gauge the hits and searches for particular songs. Also with the right SEO method it is possible to optimize a particular product to show up in the beginning of the search or ‘discovery’ pattern. This can really help those products and services that are local not based with huge companies have the potential to make it big.
The AR app I chose was that BMW Z4- My boss is a BMW fan and so I experimented by having him try it out.. It was pretty cool, yes it is very expensive but one of the cool things about apps like this is that it generates a whole dimension of potential buyers.
Companies who use this probably should be those that have a lot of revenue to do this as well as need to be up to date with interesting technology to wow their audience and hopefully get a larger crowd and an extended audience.
BMW Z4
AR can help to test the market and also used as a measurement of what features were used in the AR of the product to better understand the USP and the visibility factors of the product.
PRis all about changing perceptions. programs like these help by allowing  people to dream, and then try and realize their dreams.
(A lot of my comments cater to developing companies and start ups as I specialize in PR/ Branding in this category, the shift was made because I had worked for Unilever/ Emirates Airlines/etc and felt the challenge reduce because of huge budgets and such, but what about those companies that do not have such budgets? programs like these really help optimize their public persona and accompanied with blogs, facebook, linked in and the other tools helps create a shift in market trends)
Peaches and Social Web Creme Fresh!
Phirangiz
2 Responses to “opps… I forgot to title this… Other Than The Big Four”

  1. hannah daniels February 2, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I will have to check out Mufin for music!

    You got some interesting points!

Leave a Reply

