Finding out the meaning of RSS!!

30 Jan

Okay, so I started off trying to decipher the meaning of RSS… yes I am trying to create a Social Media Blog and I have no idea what ABC’s of the subject are… I get it..

However, I am a great believer in trying out and learning on the go…

So my process was as follows

( All you internet junkies who like to keep track of how people who are not tech savvy or have no idea how to use search engines, have never heard of any social networking sites except the big ones and have no idea how to get about the internet without book marking a zillion pages on their explorers, you should enjoy this… )

Open Google and type in “What is a RSS Feed ”

The screen shot below will give you an idea of the manic confusion that I received while first looking at the search page

Of course after a bit of pondering, 43 minutes to be precise I finally got the hang of it, the ‘IT’ I am referring to here, is the RSS Feed, which is nothing but a nifty tool to subscribe and add to your blog/email/social reader.

After figuring out what this was I had to go about looking up a few blogs and clicking on the RSS icon only to get sent to another page that basically asked me to subscribe to one of the various ‘reader icons’.

It is here, that I realized the various servers that allowed for a subscription and daily or frequent updates to the various blogs. Now this got me really interested in figuring out

a) How I was to acquire one of these awesome RSS icons on my own page

b) More importantly how do  I go about getting these Feeds hosted on my blog page

You see the thing that I caught on to was how addictive it was, apart from the prior agenda of completing the class assignment it was amazing to see how engrossed I was in re creating and publishing widgets/links to all the different blog sites I had browsed through.

The wealth of information was over whelming at first, but it got me to think, act, create, develop my simple skills and try and enable  my blog to get rolling.

I always thought the internet is an amazing way to get around to people across the world without ever having to leave our home,  but the beauty of extending such social skills to businesses of all sizes is what intrigued me.

Well its about 4 12 am in the quaint conservative city of Chennai, I am all excited about the new possibilities of this blog and setting out to create and harbor as much information as I can… well, more importantly information formed in an interesting manner, a place where I am the publisher, image control, PR guide on a platform where I can receive a massive wealth of information free of charge.

The actual proof is in the pudding though isn’t it… all this information for free, now how to get about using it in the best possible way?

Happy reading!

Phirangi

8 Responses to “Finding out the meaning of RSS!!”

  1. Astrid February 1, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Thanks for posting this. I’m also just learning about RSS and trying to figure out how to get RSS feeds on my iPhone. I’m trying to avoid having to boot up my laptop every time I want to check out my RSS feeds. Great post!

  2. shannon February 1, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    Ha ha, I loved this too. I did the same. Great blog!
    Shannon

  3. Astrid February 1, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Thanks for the link. I actually googled “best RSS feeds app” and found one called RSS. Go figure. I’m using it now and so far so good. It was free too so that was a bonus.

    • phirangizcorner February 3, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      I love free stuff…I think since the internet came we have been receiving a lot more free stuff than we should be getting… I know there are a lot of tracks and information databases that keep an eye on people on the web, I wonder if there is more to it sometimes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coupons Online Printable 2011 Free | The Best Deal Always - February 2, 2012

    […] iPad, or Smart PhoneMining RSS Feeds For Cancer NewsEncouraging Article content Through RSS FeedsFinding out the meaning of RSS!! var base_url_sociable = […]

Leave a Reply

